Twenty Four

Fluffy dog

Today I want to talk about something that is considered taboo and controversial in the career and professional world – wanting more.

I have always had big dreams and goals for my career, and sometimes my mind tends to branch out and want to do ten things at once. I am currently in grad school and have already decided on two more degrees that I want, and recently I have been considering going back and getting a second bachelor’s degree so that I have the option of someday going into veterinary school! (This one is my current top pick: https://vet.osu.edu)

It may seem like I can’t make up my mind, but really I am just passionate about so many things, that I want to get a taste of them all. I am currently studying media, because most of the careers I am interested in have an option for online media consultants, or will need one in the future (because the internet is only getting bigger).

But that doesn’t change the fact that my love for animals and their welfare is very strong, and I would love to be able to provide care for animals, particularly rescues in need.

 

Chihuahua licking hand

In two days, I will be turning 24 years old, and part of me feels like I should be well developed in my career already, but a much bigger part of me wants to keep taking classes, and learning everything that I can, so that I can truly be everything that I want.

In one of the classes I have been taking this semester, I have learned more about myself than I did in all four years of my undergraduate studies. I have taken courses from this professor before, and she is truly the best teacher I have ever had, but this particular class has really motivated me to work harder towards my career goals, and continue learning everything that I have a desire to learn. Throughout the class, I have ended up not only reading and watching the required materials, but than researching the topics from them more, because I found them so interesting.

I had to read so many awful, boring books during my undergrad studies, that I grew to loathe reading, but this semester, I got to read a book that I not only enjoyed, but that I actually learned from. I was able to learn how to build a platform online, which is helpful for everyone, but especially me since that is something that I hope to do a lot of in my career.

Here is the author’s website: http://michaelhyatt.com

For now, I plan on continuing my education on the business side of things, but I have already looked into a few science classes and veterinary programs for my other goals.

I hope that everyone reading this is inspired to go after what they want, and remember that settling for anything less is never going to make you truly happy – whether you want to be someone with ten potential careers, or if you’re happy with just the one, don’t let anyone else’s ideals impact what you want out of life!

 

Leave a Reply

