Creative with a Conscience

Who Am I?

My name is Katie, and I have spent most of my life trying to figure out how I’m going to make a difference in the world. Animal rights are very important to me, and I always dream of winning the lottery and immediately ending things such as pet homelessness and animal testing.

A little over a year ago, I graduated from college with a Bachelor’s degree in Marketing. I am now in grad school, and will receive my Master’s degree in Journalism – New Media later this year. Ultimately, I would love to work for a company as a social media liaison. Preferably a company that is related to one of my big passions – music, beauty, or animals. Or, even better, I would love to work in all three industries in some way.

Earlier this week, we learned about storytelling. Storytelling is going to be a huge part of my career, because I will always be telling a story of some sort, whether it be the story of animals in need, the story of a local band that you should be listening to, or the story of a fabulous beauty product that could transform your skin.

My Plan

Now that we’ve spoken a bit about storytelling, I would like to share a story with you about my goals. About two weeks ago, I took a trip to Columbus, Ohio. While I was there, I visited a store called Lush:

https://www.lushusa.com
Have you ever walked into a place and just felt right at home? Lush is a company that stands for everything in which I believe. They fight animal testing, they support multiple charities, protect the environment, and purchase ingredients ethically.

https://www.lushusa.com/on/demandware.store/Sites-Lush-Site/en_US/AboutUs-OurStoryShow?cid=we-believe

IMG_3249

 

I had great conversations with everyone who was working at Lush, and I after researching their company more, I really hope to work for them someday, and share their story with the whole world, and get more people involved in their vision.

In the meantime, I am working as a Senior Education Consultant for Sephora inside JCPenney. I have also decided that after I finish my current Master’s degree, I would like to enroll in a music business master’s program through WVU, to better learn how to work with the bands that I love, and share their stories with potential fans.

It may seem like I have very different career interests, but I truly want to ensure that I have a great career, full of things that I love and that are important to me. There is nothing that makes me happier than introducing my friends and family members to a new band, product, company, or cause that I love, and it would be fantastic to be able to do that in my career.

I plan on utilizing this blog to document my everyday life, and sharing where my story takes me. I hope that within my lifetime I can see some great advancements for animal rights (and I hope that I was able to help with those advancements), and that I also get the chance to work with some of my favorite bands and companies.

Until then, please take a look at what Lush is doing to fight animal testing, and what you can do to help end animal testing as well!

http://www.fightinganimaltesting.com

Also, feel free to contact me below!

 

 

Leave a Reply

